A Purpose Driven Vacation

Few years back, I was often asked where I was rooted from and I honestly had that unwillingness to answer the same question time and again. In light of all, it was not because of humiliation but because it always lead me to question my own in a marked degree. Truly when your life was scattered from one place to another, you inadvertently forget where your heart really belongs to. And that’s how I, beyond the shadow of a doubt should call my home.

On top of the heap let me share one of the renewed moments I just had run into during my recent annual leave. I flew back home in November 21, 2015 and I am of full glee to say that I have got not a sheer pleasure, rest or snug hugs from family but turned to be a purpose-filled one.

Soon after a short while in La Trinidad Benguet, we ought to go and visit my dad in Bontoc, Mountain Province. As we pass through Halsema Highway, my mom and I unbrokenly intoned pieces of dramatic and hilarious stories that carried a tear of precious laughter.

I hardly pressed and turned my eyes outside through the bus window and oh, how I missed that view. The gorgeous mountains, the cold breeze and the sunset mean everything but God’s perfect creations. And as the wind softly blew to my face, I turned to my mom and shared how I was being set free from the slavery of loneliness while I was away. I shared about Jesus.

That startling and magical moment, I saw an amazingly different stream of tears. She wept not of sorrow or guilt but healing water from a lost soul. From her tears she finally held the Lord’s mountain of strength and bounded by the sea of His love. Previously my mom had a religion but not an intimate relationship with a living God. Today, what I see is, she’s undoubtedly compared to a lost sheep but by grace that she’s been founded by her faithful Shepherd. Currently she’s actively attending church, praise Him!

So after a pleasurable trip from different places, I still hunger and thirst. Do you know what it means to travel without a straight motive? I tell you there’s always an indescribable yearning that you are missing. Thus I finally went elsewhere.

IMG_7657Dodo-an, Monamon Sur, Bauko, Mountain Province is not quite known to most people. (Please refer to my old blog “Green, Green Grass of Home” ) A numbered step away from our house there stands a Christian church. This congregation composed of 50 or more members is being led by Ptrs. Perlyn Aguelba, Agapita Danglipen, Jose Danglipen and Feney Hope Tayaban, respectively. The gospel of grace is being taught.

12696291_1560873280900202_210346728_nTo be straightforward, the church needs additional resources so as I beheld.  It is built almost 10 years now but still not poured a sponsor yet. Recognizing possible reasons, however, contemplate the remoteness of the place and maybe the members’ livelihood where family necessities come primary in a financial plan.

In the Scripture, we are all called to serve and12650705_1560873160900214_1294298953_n not to be served as how Jesus did. He, however, measured greatness through service and not status. In Mark 10:43 it emphasized that whoever wants to be great must become a servant. God determines us not by how many people who serve us but how many people we serve. Besides, it is written that we have to keep loving people earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins. If you start loving other people more than yourself, you will undeniably share the divine truth and care about their salvation.

12665813_1560873234233540_1290865396_n

So it is better if we have…

A heart of a servant.

A passion to share the Word.

A compassion to draw people closest to Jesus.

A gift of mercy and service to practice.

Above all, an unconditional love of God and to other people.

Essentially when I first visited the church and attended the gathering, I looked around and witnessed the passion of these leaders, the fiery in their biblical teachings lit a flame in my heart to do something not a mandatory act but a mission to be accomplished by every believer drawing back glory and honor to the Father.

By and of itself, may I plead today fellow Christians for cash or in-kind donations for supplementing the needs of the church. Please join me fulfill this calling as you have given, my faith and prayer is that God will give it back to you one hundred fold. (Please mail me at dayebitz@gmail.com)

“Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.” – Luke 6:38

Before I was not yet a believer, my heart is limited to a particular “place.” To such a great extent now, my real home is wherever His presence is.

3 thoughts on “A Purpose Driven Vacation

  1. simplygracelyn

    I’m so happy Dhaye for what kind of woman of you have become. I know God will use for his greater glory. More to come! Enjoy your journey with the Lord. It wont be very easy but everything will be worth it especially when we see his glory unfold.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A Promise of a Cup of Coffee | Of Places, Thoughts and Dreams

Leave a comment